About the URI

World Religions




Celebrations Sacred Spaces Basic Beliefs Resources



The six-pointed Star of David is an important Jewish symbol said to be from the shield of King David, the Israelite king who established Jerusalem as the capital city of the Israelites.
The Tallit or prayer shawl is used in worship. The fringe on the shawl reminds Jewish people to obey God's law.
This plate contains the ritual foods that are part of the seder meal, an important ceremony on the first night of Passover celebrating the escape of the Israelites from slavery in Egypt. The egg symbolizes a new beginning. The roasted lamb bone is a reminder that God told the Israelites to put blood on their doorpost so that the angel of death would "pass over" their home. The horseradish which tastes bitter is a reminder of the Jewish people's time in slavery. The salts water symbolizes tears.
This is a nine-branched candlestick is a special kind of menorah used during Hanukkah, the festival of lights.
The Torah scrolls contain the Jewish bible. The Torah is the same of the
In Judaism, justice is held in high respect. These are the scales of justice.

God gave Moses the Ten Commandments on tablets of stone to pass on to the Israelites.

The Jewish house of worship is called a temple.
During Rosh Hashanah, the shofar or ram's horn is blown to remind people to prepare themselves to lead better lives.
Many Jewish men wear a skull cap or kippah when praying. Some wear it all the time. It is a sign of being in the presence of God.

This web site attempts to introduce young people to the wonder and diversity of the world's religions and spiritual traditions. We have tried to present simple, straight forward, accurate information about the world's five major religions and many other smaller religions and spiritual traditions. We recognize the complexity and challenges of this task. Please feel free to email us at [email protected] with your suggestions.

© 2002 United Religions Initiative