URI Events

On this page, one can find the events for the current month.  If you are interested in events in subsequent months please click on the menu of months. 

October 2022

November 2022

Sacred Trees: A Tree Planting Workshop

22 November - 6:00am PST/ 14:00 GMT

On November 22nd, URI is partnering with WWF and its Trillion Tree campaign to hold a presentation and workshop about tree planting practices.  The first 40 minutes of the two-hour workshop will introduce participants to the new tree-planting guide specifically written for faith groups and spiritual communities.

Please join us!

Register here.         Check for your local time

Our Story Our Future

23 November 2022 - 6:00 am PDT/ 14:00 GMT

You are invited to join URI North India and North America on 23rd November 2022 as we reflect on stories of collective trauma and healing in South Asia. Join us as our wonderful speakers walk us through their experiences of partition, gender, generational trauma and somatic healing, and the burden of tradition in South Asia.

Register

December 2022

Gathering for Earth

5 December 2022- 15:00 GMT/ 7:00 PST

You are invited to join the final Gathering for Earth is happening on 5 December 2022.

Since May 2022, Gathering for Earth has been bringing together URI members and Cooperation Circles from around the world to share ideas about care for the earth.

The final gathering will focus on actions participants are taking to restore the earth.

Register here      Find your local time here

Past September 2022

ACWAY Fellows Talk - End Racism Build Peace

25 September - 3:00pm GMT/ 8:00 am PDT

ACWAY, in partnership with United Religions Initiative, The Network For Religious and Traditional Peacemakers, and in collaboration with the G20 Interfaith Forum Youth Working Group, invites you to participate in this webinar - International Day of Peace 2022 - End Racism. Build Peace. - and make your contribution to the International Day of Peace (IDP) by adding value to the conversation through building peace by exploring how to address issues of racism in (inter-)faith spaces. Come along for some discussion and also find out where the next global forum will be held and how to apply!

Register here 

URI September Youth Connection Café - with Beit Ashams for Self Development Palestine for Self Development Palestine

27 September - 7am PST/2pm GMT/7.30pm IST.

Join the upcoming URI Youth Connection Café for a session on “Practicing Peace Within and Peace Without”. Led by Sally Zaghmout, from Beit Ashams for Self Development in Palestine, this session will introduce participants to simple practices of meditation and movement to help manage stressful emotions. 

As young peacebuilders our work can cause stress and anxiety as we face community challenges and conflicts in a direct way. It is common knowledge that we need to practice our own inner peace to be peacebuilders in the world, but how do we do this? And how can we support each other and the communities around us with these practices?

Register here.        Find your local time.

Together with URI - Global Community Call - Peacebuilding

15 September 2022 — 13:00 GMT / 6:00 am PDT

In 1981 the United Nations established September 21 as the International Day of Peace to highlight “commemorating and strengthening the ideals of peace both within and among all nations and peoples.” The 2022 theme identified by the UN is "End Racism. Build Peace".

Each year many Cooperation Circles around the world celebrate the International Day of Peace. This year URI will also celebrate it as a global community through a "Together with URI" zoom call. We will focus on peacebuilding efforts in URI. URI staff will share one or two stories, then we will break into small groups for participants to share their own peacebuilding work. All members of the URI network are invited to attend.

This discussion will be led by URI Director of Global Programs, Alice Swett.

Please join the Together with URI global community calls.  

For more information

Together for Reflection and Connection

Past Event

ENORB is hosting a further conversation for reflection and connection as part of its programme of interfaith dialogue and continued focus on the rising concerns among faith and civil society organisations about the contemporary development of Islamophobia and resulting anti-Muslim hatred in Europe. 

Register here