(Unity Week Event) Let’s Talk! What Does Meaningful Youth Participation Look Like?

15 June 2021, 6:34 PM

You are invited to join the World UNITY Week 2021 event "Let’s Talk! What Does Meaningful Youth Participation Look Like?"

Date: Wednesday 23rd June 

Time: 7.30am PT | 10.30am EDT | 2.30pm GMT | 4.30pm CET

REGISTER HERE

Join this event as we bring together five URI youth organisers from different parts of the world, who are working to enhance youth engagement in their contexts, to discuss strategies and mechanisms for meaningful youth participation. They will be in dialogue with Youth Policy expert, Noella Richard from the UNDP. 

Youth engagement looks different across the world, and yet there is a common misconception of youth engagement simply being a ‘ceremonial’ act or a tick-box exercise. Young people are often given entry level positions, such as internships or volunteer roles, with limited scope for growth. 

We believe that young people are expertly positioned in understanding current and local contexts, and engaging with processes of peacebuilding and grassroots organising to address local and global issues. 

With this in mind, we ask the question, what does meaningful youth participation look like in our field? And what are the strategies and mechanisms for meaningful youth engagement that we can learn from each other?

We invite you to join this event! 


See more URI events for World UNITY Week 2021.